looking for a new a/v reciever [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : looking for a new a/v reciever

69 camaro SS
12-30-2005, 11:05 PM
Hi, I'm new to the whole home theater thing. I have an older yamaha rx-v1050 reciever that just died on me. I need to find something different, I also have klipsch hg3.2 floor speakers for my mains. And a cheap set of sony surround speakers . Would really like some advice on a new reciever .I cant afford to spend much more than 300.00 on it. I dont even know where to start HELP. thanks

69 camaro SS
12-30-2005, 11:11 PM
I dont even mind going with used equipment as long as it's quality

brendy
12-31-2005, 04:16 AM
For a new one the Onkyo 503 is real tough to beat for $300.

learner
12-31-2005, 07:39 AM
I was in a similar situation just a few short weeks ago. My decision came down to the Onkyo 503 (mentioned above) and the Pioneer VSX-815. I did a lot of research and asked questions just like you are and I finally decided on the Pioneer because of all of the great reviews on different sites. Check out the audioholics for their picks for the best system under $1000.

I cant as of yet tell you how it performs because I am waiting to move into a new home so I am waiting to hook everything up. Should be able to get a first hand review from thekid.

Good luck.

thekid
12-31-2005, 07:58 AM
Hi, I'm new to the whole home theater thing. I have an older yamaha rx-v1050 reciever that just died on me. I need to find something different, I also have klipsch hg3.2 floor speakers for my mains. And a cheap set of sony surround speakers . Would really like some advice on a new reciever .I cant afford to spend much more than 300.00 on it. I dont even know where to start HELP. thanks