Question: 1200$ PC Media Center [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Question: 1200$ PC Media Center

marouxlas
01-15-2004, 10:01 AM
Hello,

I am relatively new to the audio world and I facing a challenge that many others out there might have to deal with as well. So I thought I should ask for help in this forum.

What I want to be able to do:

1) Play an MP3 collection from a computer to a nice HT set. Before everyone comes after me I should clarrify that I am talking about 200-250 kbps VBR mp3s, not the ones that you can find on Kazza. Basically I ripped my whole CD album collection into my PC so I can browse and play them faster. Soassume that almost perfect quality is there.

2) Play DVDs from a computer to a nice HT set.

Ok now here are my specifics:
1- Music (80%), Movies (20%)
2- Should not be limited to a specific kind of music, all kinds should be of decent quality (classical, hip-hop, etc).
3- Budget of 1200$ for everything (except subwoofer that can add to the 1200$).
4- Room size, let's assume an average 18ft x 22ft with normal high ceiling.

This system will be used only for playback, not recording music, and like I said the source of audio would be solely the computer from either its CD/DVD player or the MP3s from the hard drive. NO other external inputs, analog or digital.

So my research so far shows that I would need:
a) A good soundcard to get the digital signal out + a Digital-Analog Converter (DAC) as a separate device OR a really good soundcard with a nice DAC onboard.
b) An amplifier since the signal coming from the soundcard is not strong enough.
c) A set of speakers: two front, two back and a center one, subwoofer optional due to budget limitations.
d) Cables that match the quality of the components.

Issues I would like to hear from you: