DVD Player/Satellite Receiver Hook-up Question [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : DVD Player/Satellite Receiver Hook-up Question

Sin City Dave
12-21-2005, 10:48 AM
I'm a newbie to all of this, so forgive my ignorance if the answer to my question is totally obvious. I'm making the jump to Home Theater. I have a nice HDTV (new Sony 50' LCoS) and a nice new Universal Disc Changer (Yamaha DVD-C950) with an HDMI output. I am in the process of choosing speakers and a receiver.

My question boils down to whether or not I need HDMI switching in my receiver choice. There are a lot of opinions regarding "switching outside the box;" foregoing connection to the receiver and connecting it directly to the TV. Is this as simple as it sounds? What connections are made so that the audio syncs-up with the video when you do engage the receiver for audio? Are there advantages/disadvantages to this set-up?

One last thing: When and if you respond, I'd appreciate advice in plain language. I have a general knowledge of things, but I am not a "techie" per se, and I am a long way from an engineer (I haven't taken a true math course since I was a Junior in High School).

Thanks,

Dave

westcott
12-21-2005, 11:16 AM
My question boils down to whether or not I need HDMI switching in my receiver choice. There are a lot of opinions regarding "switching outside the box;" foregoing connection to the receiver and connecting it directly to the TV. Is this as simple as it sounds? What connections are made so that the audio syncs-up with the video when you do engage the receiver for audio? Are there advantages/disadvantages to this set-up?

Thanks,

Dave

Seasons Greeting Dave,

I would have to know what your budget is to really tell you whether or not a receiver with HDMI switching is of benefit. If you budget is around US$900 to US$1000, it may be very cost effective to get a receiver with HDMI switching included. A separate switch could easily cost close to US$300 alone!