HTIB suggestions? I am new at this. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : HTIB suggestions? I am new at this.

learner
12-15-2005, 06:29 PM
Ok guys I need suggestions and a lot of help here.

I am trying to put together a nice little Home theater system for me and the wife. She was pretty reluctant about dishing out the bucks so I am on a pretty tight budget here. I already purchased a Hitachi 51* F 510. I found them on sale after thanksgiving for $899 and thought it was a pretty good buy. Thoughts?

Ok now about the HTIB.(thats what they are called right?) I am looking at spending no more than $800 on this thing and probably not much over $600 or $700 if the wife has her way. I have been searching through the usual suspects (crutchfield, best buy, circuit vity etc...) and I think I like the looks and the sound of the Onkyo HT-S787. Do you guys have any thoughts on this? I have about a 10-14 ft living room. Any other HTIB that you would suggest for my budget? What can you tell me about the Onkyo?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated guys. Please talk in simple terms because I am pretty dumb at all of this stuff.

Thank you all in advance.

paul_pci
12-15-2005, 09:04 PM
Typically we frown on HTIB because there are so many compromises made in the sound quality and such. We would typically advise someone with a limited budget, say your $800, to buy a $3-400 receiver and the rest on two nice speakers and build a full 5.1 system as future budgets allow. But, in your case, it sounds like you may have a "now and forever" budget because of your wife, so an HTIB may be all you can get. And, unfortunately, whatever you bring home will not be able to impress your spouse enough to consider future investments. Having said that, if you do in fact have a now and forever budget, then something from Onkyo would be fine. You could also find 5.1 speaker packages from Polk and Infinity, etc. where you'd also have to buy a receiver.

markw
12-16-2005, 06:02 AM