Tower ar.com's again...... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Tower ar.com's again......

kevyjo
11-30-2005, 12:30 PM
Hello, this is my first post in this forum. I've been an audio hobbyist for awhile and built my own subwoofer that I'm still very very pleased with. I've become intrigued with the ar.com's. I'm very happy with my main speakers, Signet 280 BL's, and after all of these years I'm still impressed with their balance between being both forgiving and revealing, easy impedence load and relative efficiency. Signet also had the 260's, and came out with the floorstanding 280ex after I bought mine. The only problem with the 280 BL's is that they are pretty ugly. I've always wanted some elegant slender 2-way floorstanders (something like the proac studio 125's) as a DIY project. I've read Ed's post about the ar's loosing some of their "midrange magic" when placed in a larger enclosure, and I was just wondering if someone could expand on this. One thing i've liked about my speakers is the fact that they are tuned to a frequency lower than "optimal", giving a deep but slighly rolled off bass, and sounding somewhat drier in the midrange than the 260's. Could such an effect be achieved with the ar.coms? I was looking at around a 35 liter enclosure and a port tuned at 34hz

kexodusc
11-30-2005, 12:37 PM
There's a lot at play as you increase the volume. You're changing the baffle size, and that's going to affect baffle step and diffraction at least somewhat (though probably not much if width is preserved). But you will change the overall tonality of the design as you change the slope (and could affect power handling a bit as well which could impact the midrange if you start to run out of excursion).

A few people have made the Ar.com's into towers, but preserving the internal volumes by building a dummy chamber underneath the ar.com (and filling it with sand, polyfill or something to absorb resonances) with good success.

kevyjo