Started New HT setup, Help me finish [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Started New HT setup, Help me finish

Crackerballer
11-29-2005, 09:55 PM
Hey guys, I am new to the site, and have just started purchasing stuff to build my HT system. The first thing I bought was a Sony 7.1 STRDE898B Reciever (100w x 7) I liked it because of the price and features of being digital and such.

Is this a good reciever, or should I send it back and go with something different. I am a big movie buff, and will hopefully be buying either a 50'' DLP projection TV or a flat screen plasma in a month or so. The system will be in smaller rooms (my bed room or perhaps a living room, nothing over about 16x16) and is primarly used for DVD's and gaming (Xbox 360 and some PS2)

I want clear sound. Really loud is not necessary. I am a bass junkie (hopefully going to get a good powered sub)

I am new to the game. Total budget for receiver, and speakers is gonna be about 1600-2000. I was thinking going entirely JBL Northridge, E100 (x2) E50 (x2) E35, E10 (x2)

Any input you guys give is appreciated. I am open to websites, guides, etc. I want a quality system that will last awhile and let me enjoy great audio movies (Master and Commander, Days of Thunder, etc)

Lensman
11-29-2005, 10:37 PM
Welcome to the forums! If you do a search, you'll find Sony receivers are not among the better considered brands by regulars here. Most will recommend Denon, Yamaha or Pioneer in that price range. Pioneer's latest offerings have been garnering particularly good comments.

Before you spring for those JBLs, a couple of notes: First, most veterans here will caution you away from floorstanding speakers in this price range. Higher quality bookshelves mated with a decent sub will almost always outperform them as, in this price range, floorstanders invaribly make sonic compromises that result in poor midrange reproduction - which is the area of sound you'll actually be hearing the most.