Please compare my current setup to a HTIB..what would sound better? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Please compare my current setup to a HTIB..what would sound better?

lithnights
11-28-2005, 06:54 PM
Hello all,
First off, great site and great advice from what I have read so far here.

I am a newbie here although I have had an entry level home theatre setup for the past 10 years. I use it for DVD watching (75% of time) as well as CD and radio listening (25%).

It is currently...
Kenwood Dolby Pro Logic 7080 receiver (bought in 1996.. not dolby digital)
Infinity CC-2 center channel
Bose 301s as fronts
Small basic speakers as rears
A/R S108 subwoofer

The setup has suited me fine except now I want Dolby Digital. Thus my questions are...

1) Do I just replace the receiver (looking at Pioneer 815 or 1015 or similar one around $400) or do I buy a home theatre in a box (e.g. Onkyo HTS780)?

2) Is the fact that I am using different brands as my speakers a bad thing?

3) Would a HTIB similar to the Onkyo really sound better than a new receiver and my current 301s? I can't imagine a $500 HTIB would sound as good especially when just the speakers alone in my current system cost $300. I can't imagine blasting my CDs through some of those speakers that come in the HTIB like I do with my 301s...

Thanks in advance!

eisforelectronic
11-28-2005, 07:17 PM
HTiB is almost always the best way to go! Afterall, who knows what goes together best than the manufacturer? Besides having theatre sound at home is hardly worth the extra money.

lithnights
11-28-2005, 07:44 PM
HTiB is almost always the best way to go! Afterall, who knows what goes together best than the manufacturer? Besides having theatre sound at home is hardly worth the extra money.

Even for music listening?

I guess I'm not trying to duplicate theatre sound (I'd go bankrupt) but just trying to get some decent surround sound above and beyond what a TV would give me.

Thanks,

eisforelectronic