Any CRT TV that comes with Progressive Scan? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Any CRT TV that comes with Progressive Scan?

yon_wu
11-18-2005, 09:37 PM
I know this is a silly question to ask you guys, but I'm new to this AV world.

I was going to upgrade to HDTV that has a progressive scan feature, as my new Rotel DVD player has that feature. But having reading many discusions in this forum, I decided to stick to CRT TV, they are cheaper and sharper. But I still need the progressive scan TV.

1).Are there any CRTs TV that has progressive scan feature? What brand is the best? What size is the smallest, coz my viewing room is not so big.
2).Are progressive scan feature only comes with HDTV? In this case, I will have to buy a new HDTV. And again what brand is the best?

Thanks!

EdwardGein
11-18-2005, 10:44 PM
You should be able to play progressive scan DVD players with most HDTV CRT sets. What you will need to buy though and are probably not aware of are 2 sets of decent component cables: 1 to conect your DVD player to your TV & the other to connect you cable/satellite HD
Box/DVR to your TV. Do not use the free ones your cable company or satellite company provides you as they are cheap & picture quality is affected by poor cables. I'd recommend you get on Ebay new 2 sets of Monster Component Cables either entry level or the mid priced range. I'd also recommend you get/rent an HD DVR. Good luck

edtyct
11-19-2005, 07:53 AM