what TV will work best in a large room with a lot of light [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : what TV will work best in a large room with a lot of light

gcappo1
11-07-2005, 07:14 PM
I'm just starting to build my first home theater. I am a novice.

The room is 16 feet wide x 25 feet deep. There are two large picture windows. The windows have blinds in them but they do not darken the room completely. The room gets some light from two adjacent rooms as well.

I'm concerned about:
- correct screen size
- proper brightness for the room size
- viewing angle for individuals that are sitting along the sides of the room.

I have four family members that will use it extensively. Keeping them happy is more important than the cost. I would appreciate any recommendations.

edtyct
11-08-2005, 06:56 AM
Since you'll probably be sitting further back than 10 ft. in this fairly large bright room, you can get a big display (over 55" if you want). Under other circumstances, a front projector might work, but in your environment, which is bright and family-oriented, front projection would be too labor-intensive and fussy.