self-powered studio monitors [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : self-powered studio monitors

jehufan
01-11-2004, 03:28 PM
Teach me, for I am not wise in the ways of the Audiophile...

I'm a newbie and I'm looking for some input from someone with more experience than myself. I used to work as a sound man in a small club, and I have a little background in the pro-audio and sound reinforcement area. I'm not a pro mind you, but I know my way around a mixing board and some of the basics of live sound. That experience gave me a taste of the pro-audio world. Now that I'm out of college (and I have a good paying job) I've become interested in buying a high quality stereo system (~$1500 total).

I've been looking at some of the pro-audio self-powered studio monitors for use in a home stereo application. The Mackie HR824 / HR624 and Alesis Pro Linear models look particular interesting to me. They're in the same price range as some of the mid-range audiophile speakers, and yet the audiophile crowd seems to show little or no interest in this speaker market. I'm curious why the audiophiles ignore these seemingly high quality / high performance speakers. Are studio monitors a bad choice for home stereo use? I realize that the speakers are for mixing and studio use, but is there some reason they wouldn't be a good choice for casual listening?

TinHere
01-11-2004, 04:15 PM
I'm not sure, but I think that the studio monitors are designed more for "near field" listening than a home theater environment. Another reason for not having powered speakers is the required processing that is often done with receivers, although it can be done with a pre-pro. Equiptment is designed for different applications and purchasing with that in mind IMHO is a good idea.

Geoffcin
01-11-2004, 04:57 PM
Teach me, for I am not wise in the ways of the Audiophile...