Help please [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Help please

Stewrt
01-10-2004, 11:39 AM
Hello everyone,

I've searched though the threads looking for what people use for power surge protection and conditioning. No one seems to agree. Someone did post a bit from Consumer Reports saying which they had rated best. But after reading what Consumer Reports did about Bose after the lawsuit I have a hard time trusting Consumer Reports even anymore.

Basics of this thread is that I will be moving to Puerto Rico in a few months and want to protect my system from Brown outs and surges, Conditioning would be a bonus to whatever I get if it's available in the paticular product.
I'm not a big fan of any Monster products. I Believe there is more cost for the name than anything else you get.

I have found this Company. They seem to make alot of hype about their product and how it blows away the competition. Just that I'm not an electrical engineer and all these specs really fluster me. If someone who has a clue could look at some of the info on this site and give me some feedback that would be great. http://www.brickwall.com/
Itr looks like it would be the choice for me by what they say, but like I said I really dont know what they are saying in the finer points of the whole thing.
And would this companies pruducts be able to handle some high current gear, (big amps and such).

Otherwise I would really appreciate some info if you have some.

Thanks,
Stewrt

mtrycraft
01-11-2004, 12:15 AM
But after reading what Consumer Reports did about Bose after the lawsuit I have a hard time trusting Consumer Reports even anymore.Thanks Stewrt

What has CR doen after the lawsuit? Please present the evidence, not speculate what others may have speculated about. CR has been accused in the past, no evidence has ever been presented to support any of those accusations.

You don't have to accept the CR report. We all make choices.