best 300-400$ stereo speakers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : best 300-400$ stereo speakers

jc_bon2
10-11-2005, 05:41 AM
Im a newbie here and havent got any info about speakers, so if you would be kind enough pls explain to me the good and the bad about those speakers, I would really appreciate it,
thanx.

Ive been thinking about the Bose 301 speaker for quite some time now. is it the best in its price range???

GMichael
10-11-2005, 05:57 AM
Im a newbie here and havent got any info about speakers, so if you would be kind enough pls explain to me the good and the bad about those speakers, I would really appreciate it,
thanx.

Ive been thinking about the Bose 301 speaker for quite some time now. is it the best in its price range???

If you want book shelf speakers I'd go with the Infity Primus 150's or 160's. These are better than those Bose.
The KEF CODA 70's or Q1's are even better. Try this site http://www.accessories4less.com/amazing/brandcategories.asp?BC=KEF
or
http://www.kef.com/products/qseries/qseries11.asp

If you can work with your hands there are a few kits on Parts Expres site worth assembling.

http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?&DID=7&WebPage_ID=209

N. Abstentia
10-11-2005, 07:38 AM
Bose are nowhere near being 'the best' or even 'somewhat good' in that (or any) price range. Walk into any store that sells speakers and blindly point at something...that will sound better than Bose. Seriously.

In your price range I would look at Athena. Great speakers for the price and readily available. These will destroy any Bose and are probably the best deal out there right now:
http://audioadvisor.com/store/productdetail.asp?sku=ATHASB1&product_name=Audition%20AS-B1%20Speakers%20-%20Pair

kexodusc
10-11-2005, 07:45 AM