RS 3 Way update. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : RS 3 Way update.

poneal
10-04-2005, 07:03 AM
I thought I would post an update of my RS 3 way project. It's going slow. The top boxes are done and I've been working on the bass boxes. They should be done this weekend sometime so hopefully I will get to listen to them then. These top boxes sit atop the bass box. When I complete the bottoms I will post a picture of the entire speaker. As you can see, the RS drivers and black lacquer go together well. Enjoy, Paul.

http://home.stx.rr.com/poneal/BothFrntFacing.jpg

jclin4
10-06-2005, 05:53 AM
Paul,

great looking work in progress! I'm looking forward to seeing the bottom unit when you complete it.

It's encouraging to see more people doing projects with Dayton's RS series. I've also been keeping tabs on the work Jon Marsh has been doing.

I'm a newbie to DIY and have built the BR-1 and AR.com kits. I love them both and look forward to future projects with two-way monitors. I've read good things about Dennis Murphy's MBOW1, but that Hiquphon tweeter is beyond my price range. I know he has cheaper MB-20 and MB-27 versions, but wouldn't the RS28A tweeter make another interesting (and cost-effective) variation on that excellent design?

poneal
10-06-2005, 09:40 AM
Appreciate the comments. I may be able to post some pictures of the finished product this weekend. No listening comments at that time but at least the blunt of the grunt work will be done. I plan on starting the actual measuring of these tonight if I get a chance.

I think the RS28 might work in Dennis' MBOW1 but I'm sure the xover would have to change so it wouldn't be a plop in the box thing. I've also read good things about the Seas 27TBFC (think that's the one) which is a metal cone but doesn't sound like a metal cone.