Help with choosing speakers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Help with choosing speakers

brennanc
09-28-2005, 02:00 PM
Hi.

I am a student who loves his classic rock. My favorite bands are Journey and Styx. Currently I have a Denon UD-M30 micro system with two Mission MS-50 speakers. This system does a nice job, however as my audio needs grow I want to expand. My room is basically mid size with a high seiling. The Denon I currently have only allows two speakers, so I am upgrading to hopefully a more powerful Denon reciever. I would like to find two bookshelf speakers that do a great job playing my genre of audio. I would also like these speakers to complement my mission speakers, as they will be used for rears. I want to use the new speakers for fronts. I have looked extensivly at Bose and decided they weren't what I wanted. So then I started to look at the Klipsch (how do you pronounce?) and was very pleased with reviews. I looked at their RB-25 and RB-35 models. I am thinking the RB-35's may be a bit much. My brother has two Cambridge Sound Works M60's right next to my room, and he overpowers me quite often. I would like to be able to hear my music over his. Any advice you can give me on speakers would be greatly appriciated. Thank you. Also what do you know about the Klipsch, are they good, I have read from numerous people they are. Also good things about Polk audio. Thank you for your time.

Florian
09-28-2005, 02:33 PM
Welcome to audioreview!

The Klipsch speakers are quite good and very efficent which means that you do not need a lot of power to drive them to levels above your brothers. What is your budget?

-Flo

brennanc
09-28-2005, 02:35 PM
My budget is $350-$400 so whichever one (rb-25/35) fits the budget.

Brennan

Geoffcin
09-28-2005, 03:19 PM
My budget is $350-$400 so whichever one (rb-25/35) fits the budget.

Brennan

CSW makes a bigger speaker, the M80's, that are of a classic design, but use modern hi-tech materials.