Definitive BP 6B/8B/10B series as rear surrounds? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Definitive BP 6B/8B/10B series as rear surrounds?

billku
09-18-2005, 04:02 PM
Hi all --

I recently purchased two Def Tech BP7006's to use as my front speakers and a c/l/r 2002 to use as my center for my HT setup. I was going to buy something from the BPX series to use as my rear surrounds, but I'm seeing a lot of the BP6B/8B/10B towers on ebay, and, wisdom of purchasing speakers on ebay aside, does anyone out there have an opinion on whether these BP6B/8B/10B floorstanding speakers would make good, or even better, rear surrounds than something from the BPX series? I'm using an Onkyo TX-SR702 receiver, and the room is about 14' x 25'.

Thanks so much in advance!!!!!!!

billku
09-19-2005, 09:59 AM
Anyone? Please? I realize this may be a dumb question, but I'm very new to the A/V game.

SlumpBuster
09-19-2005, 10:31 AM
It's not a dumb question.

The towers will make fine surround speakers. There is much debate on the use of dipole and bipole speakers in a digital surround system. Some people argue that the surround channels in a digital system should be monopole and that some surround cues are lost by the diffuse patterns created by dipole and bipole speakers. However, since we're talking about Definitve Technology here, you've bought into bipole speakers regardless, so the towers would be fine. The only sound issue is the bass management, with so many towers bass can become overwhelming, but that can be tweaked for your room.

The more practical problem will be placement issues. Even with a dedicated HT room, I still went with wall mountable surrounds after seriously weighing the tower route. It just allows for more flexibility.

billku
09-19-2005, 10:36 AM
Thanks, Slump! Great thoughts!

Woochifer
09-19-2005, 04:19 PM