My Vinyl Revival Has Come, But I Need a Little Help [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : My Vinyl Revival Has Come, But I Need a Little Help

relaxo
09-15-2005, 07:00 AM
Hi,

This is my first post here. I am a recording engineer with 450 old rock/folk albums in my collection. I had a little money 10 years ago before building a recording studio and bought a:

Rega Planar 3
McCormack ALD-1 w/ phono section.
Rega Elys

Now I will fulfill a dream and make it LISTENABLE finally!

1) Should I try the other preamps that you all talk about and possibly ditch the McCormack ALD-1 phono preamp?

2) I hate my Rega Elys. It sounds too HARD and dry to me with a lot of surface noise. My old Shure V15 was TOO MELLOW, too restrained with no excitement. What should I buy? I have read that the Dynavector10x5 is good for rock. The Audio-Technica OC9 Cartridge? Denon DL-160 Cartridge. Benz Micro Glider Cartridge?

Thanks for your comments,

Scott Clark
Recording Engineer
Mercy Sound Studios NYC
http://www.mercysound.com/

Bernd
09-15-2005, 08:10 AM
Hi Scott,

You are alright with the Dynavector.IMHO. Also a realy good cartridge is Shelter. I have the 901 but believe that the 501 is also very good at much less money.
Good Luck

Bernd

SlumpBuster
09-15-2005, 11:36 AM
The Benz is significantly more expensive than the others you listed. Is your budget really up too almost $900 for a cart? I think that my be overkill on the cost benefit of putting it on a Rega P3. Also the OC9 is moving coil, not moving magnet, so you'll need to make sure you have an appropriate preamp.