surround speaker wiring [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : surround speaker wiring

deadlifter
01-07-2004, 06:03 PM
I'm new to this.

I'm just about ready to buy my first set of surround sound speakers. My question is this, how do you guys ususually wire your's. Could I just go under the carpet?

uncooked
01-07-2004, 06:48 PM
well you could go under the carpet but then most likely you will have bumps or like a ridge. i dont know how powerful your talking for a system but i would suggest using 14 - 12 gauge wire. if its a average 80 - 120 watt system. "per channel"

the best would be to run it through the walls "behind the drywall" but i dont think your building the room by the sounds of it.

my suggestion would be to try and tuck them underneath the base boards. or even take them off and put them back there and carefully re nail them down making sure not to hit the wire.

markw
01-07-2004, 08:24 PM
A few years ago I was able to get some 16 gauge flat wire that, when run under wall to wall carpeting, was totally undetectable. This got me through my rental years. I would go in before the carpet was laid and tape the needed runs to the floor with masking tape. When the guys laid the carpet, no way anyone could tell there were wires under there.

uncooked
01-07-2004, 09:12 PM
yea that mosly depends on the quality of the under lay i guess. " and flat wire is a must lol"

i would really recommend thicker then 16 gauge if you are running more then 30 feet to the back though. its possible to loose some signal. i just ran 25 feet of 16 gauge to the back of a second 5.1 project and im going to have to take it all out and re wire. im making no mistake this time and going with 12 gauge.

there was just alot of static in the rears comapred to the fronts that shouldnt have been there.

recoveryone
01-08-2004, 06:07 AM
yea that mosly depends on the quality of the under lay i guess. " and flat wire is a must lol"