High End Receiver dilema ? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : High End Receiver dilema ?

Yoda
08-30-2005, 08:18 PM
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new at this stuff and I'm building a home theater. I have the Jamo E770 in the front with E750s in back (yes this is 4 floorstandings), one forward and one rear center channel, and 2 subs (6.1 setup). Using the Optoma H78DC3 with Da-Lite screen. Large room.

I was planning on using the Integra DTR-7.4. However, I began reading about the Marantz and the Denons and onkyos.......and this lead to confusion.

I want to spend about $1500.....what do you guys suggest ??

Thanks

GMichael
08-31-2005, 05:47 AM
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new at this stuff and I'm building a home theater. I have the Jamo E770 in the front with E750s in back (yes this is 4 floorstandings), one forward and one rear center channel, and 2 subs (6.1 setup). Using the Optoma H78DC3 with Da-Lite screen. Large room.

I was planning on using the Integra DTR-7.4. However, I began reading about the Marantz and the Denons and onkyos.......and this lead to confusion.

Thanks

Many to choose from, and most of them are very good. I like my Yamaha a lot. It does it all. Plenty of others will like Denon, Onkyo, HK etc. I picked the Yammie because I liked how it sounded and how few returns they get on them. You can get the RX-V2500 for about $1000 at authorized dealers (I like getting a warranty). The RX-V4600 is about $1800 and has a better amp. But I don't think you need it. Your speakers are 6 ohm right? Should be no problem.

N. Abstentia
08-31-2005, 06:27 AM
For $1500 I wouldn't waste time with a receiver, you can do far far far better for the money with seperates. I would suggest this preamp:
http://outlawaudio.com/products/990.html