"Fantasy" DIY Tower Speakers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : "Fantasy" DIY Tower Speakers

ronning
08-28-2005, 09:39 PM
Hello all.

The short: Side-firing woofers: good or bad?

The long:

I've been exposed to loudspeakers for a long time and despite much reading loudspeaker how-to books and playing around, I still remain a novice at this. But it's still fun.. ;-)

I'm a product designer by trade and thought for a fun project I'd try to design some GOOD LOOKING, INNOVATIVE, but not necessarilly the greatest-sounding speakers in the world (I still haven't figured out crossovers). Sacrilege, I know. But bear with me.

If I can sell my ideas I may be able to get some engineers on my side to help with the gritty stuff.

So here's my concept: 3-way system. dome tweeter, dual mid-basses (5-6"), side-firing woofer (10-12"). Floor standing. This configuration (a la Infinity prelue, Genesys 6.1, etc) works well for cosmetic fun. It will be a PASSIVE system. Are there any disadvantages to a side-firing woofer? What about dual in-phase opposing woofers? (like the Genesys)

Thoughts, suggestions, wild ideas welcome!

kexodusc
08-29-2005, 03:23 AM
Nothing wrong with side firing woofers, provided they are "subwoofers". I'd want to keep their top end response below 90 Hz. 80 or lower. It'd be best to use steep filters too, 18 dB or, better.

I'm building something similar right now. Just an MTM with a "subwoofer" compartment underneath. All integrated into one box.

You'll have to better explain the dual in phase opposing woofers. Not sure I follow. Though, I'm thinking box volume could get tricky if you start adding a 2nd 10" or 12" woofer in any alignment.

squeegy200
08-29-2005, 05:57 AM
I think that was the premise behind the classic AR-9s by Acoustic Research back in the early 80s.

The one that comes to mind is the Gallo Nucleus Reference 3 speakers which incorporate your design feature.

See
http://www.roundsound.com/ref3.html

JohnMichael