Tube Amps! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Tube Amps!

johny747
08-28-2005, 08:16 AM
Hi,
I'm new to tube audio. Planning on buying a tube amplfier. What r the aspects I should look at when i'm buying?
Appreciate you help!

risabet
08-28-2005, 06:38 PM
Tube type-- EL-34, KT-88 (my choice), 300B, and many others.
Topology-- Single-ended, Push-Pull, triode, ultralinear, etc.
Biasing-- self-biasing, manual biasing
Power
You speaker/amp interface

These are some of the more important aspects of tube amp buying, IMO

Feanor
08-29-2005, 07:22 AM
Hi,
I'm new to tube audio. Planning on buying a tube amplfier. What r the aspects I should look at when i'm buying?
Appreciate you help!
If the latter, there is no real reason for tubes in this day & age. Better to go with at fine quality SS amp.

For fine quality I think you're looking at $1000+, (same would be true for a decent tube, so little difference in that respect). For SS, don't spend too much time on the likes of NAD, Rotel, Adcom, Parasound lower price models. Instead, I'd check out the "digitals" first:

PS Audio
Bel Canto
Accoustic Reality

Jjaz
NuForce
H2O
Other than these, lots of people like Odyssey.

JoeE SP9
08-29-2005, 10:53 AM
Hi,
Appreciate you help!
Whatever you do always audition it first. I use tube amps and a tube preamp. To my ears tubes sound better in the midrange and treble. I have found that solid state works better for bass. The higher current output of SS (solid state) amps is the reason. If you are going to go with tubes the earlier they are in the amplification chain the more benefit you will get. A tube preamp will have more benefit than a tube power amp. Tube preamps generally do not like driving long leads so keep that in mind. I found audio nirvana with my ARC SP-9.http://forums.audioreview.com/images/icons/icon6.gif

Feanor
08-29-2005, 12:23 PM