Robyn Hitchcock... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Robyn Hitchcock...

audiobill
08-25-2005, 04:49 AM
Can anyone tell me something about this artist??

I was listening to Woxy.com, late last night and they played a song by him, "If You Know Time" that simply arrested me on the spot.

Apparently, it's from a cd release called Spooked.

Any RR help would be appreciated.

Thanks-a-ton,

Bill

nobody
08-25-2005, 06:01 AM
That Spooked album came out last year and is very good. Its a collaboration between Hitchcock and David Rawlings, the guitar player who has worked with Gillian Welch so much. Available on vinyl as well.

Hitchcock has a long catalog, including early work with the Soft Boys, a poppy band from the time of Punk but that was more quirky pop/folk. They just released their first new album in decades a couple years back as well, another winner. I'm by no means an expert on the guy but I've heard my share of his solo stuff. My personal favorites of his is Element of Light, which has a quirky folk pop feel to it, although it does sound a bit dated with 80s production, and Invisible Hitchcock. They're both from the mid 80s. Invisible Hitchcock is mostly outtakes and stuff of that siort, but there are some really good songs on it and it has a looser less polished feel that I really like.

Someone more familiar with his stuff probably has different favorites, but those two just happened to appeal to me and I've heard them more than the rest of his stuff, which is probably why I like them.

You may also remember he had some minor hits wirth tunes like Balloon Man and Madonna of the Wasps.

noddin0ff
08-25-2005, 06:06 AM