SPL Meter??????? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : SPL Meter???????

L.J.
08-12-2005, 09:11 AM
Who? What? When? Where? Why? & How?

Been hearing alot about this the last couple of days. I'm new to all this so I'm just trying to get as much info as possible. Thanks for any comments.

kexodusc
08-12-2005, 09:27 AM
Just a cool, $45 ish gizmo that solves all your HT problems.
Well not really. But seriously, they are very useful.

SPL Meter do just what their name implies,"Sound Pressure Level" measuments. Ie: Loudness or volume.
Essential for the proper calibration of your home theater or stereo system. You cannot do this by ear (though if you have an auto-calibration tool with your A/V receiver, the spl meter is less useful).

Once you have an spl meter you can do all sorts of neat things - estimate how much real power your using, see how loud you listen to music (I laugh at the guys who tell me their speakers play 130 dB).
Useful when integrating subwoofers with speakers too.

The inexpensive Radio Shack analog meter is the most popular around here, because it's cheap and it works.

L.J.
08-12-2005, 09:47 AM
Just a cool, $45 ish gizmo that solves all your HT problems.
Well not really. But seriously, they are very useful.

SPL Meter do just what their name implies,"Sound Pressure Level" measuments. Ie: Loudness or volume.
Essential for the proper calibration of your home theater or stereo system. You cannot do this by ear (though if you have an auto-calibration tool with your A/V receiver, the spl meter is less useful).

Once you have an spl meter you can do all sorts of neat things - estimate how much real power your using, see how loud you listen to music (I laugh at the guys who tell me their speakers play 130 dB).
Useful when integrating subwoofers with speakers too.

The inexpensive Radio Shack analog meter is the most popular around here, because it's cheap and it works.