Which HT speaker package would you buy? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Which HT speaker package would you buy?

Roll Tide
08-11-2005, 05:33 PM
i'm a novice trying to find a new home theater speaker system and after reading much more than i should have, or understand, I have narrowed my search down to the following speaker packages. Now i'd like to ask you which of these systems would you purchase? let me start by saying the room i'm setting these up in is about 20 feet long and 15 feet wide. the ceilings are two story and about 20 feet tall.

These speaker packages range from around $400 to $800. i really don't want to spend any more than $800.

Harman Kardon HTKS 14
Mirage Nanoset
Definitive Technology Cinema 60

Is there another set you'd prefer for $800 or less? Athena? Wharfedale? Polk? Infinity?

I know i need to hear them all with my own ears, but i'd also like to hear what you all think.

thanks!

paul_pci
08-11-2005, 10:08 PM
Do yourself a favor and don't buy a ready-made 5-speaker package. You could do one of two things: put together a decent set up of Infinity or Polk by buying the highest quality front three speakers and lesser quality rear bookshelves within your budget, or take your $800 and buy a pair of bookshelf speakers you like best and build from there in the future. If you feel like you're going to have a long-term and somewhat serious committment to home theater audio, then go with the latter choice, If you just want surround sound and then get on with your life, go with the former option.

Roll Tide
08-12-2005, 03:03 AM
Thanks for the info. i thought about piecing together a system with the components I have now, but my center Polk is a TS101 that's about 10 years old, and my fronts are DCM Timeframe 400s. While all are ok, none are great and they really aren't compatible.