Question about various makes/models of speakers? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Question about various makes/models of speakers?

acqui
01-05-2004, 05:34 PM
I am relatively new to the audiophile scene but I was wondering what makes certain speakers so much better than others? For instance, you rarely hear people mention such makes as JBL, Infinity etc (speakers are that usually sold by Best Buy, Circuit City ) as opposed to hearing alot about Paradigm, B&W, Mirage etc. Are these speakers that much better than the others? I can't imagine a company like JBL wouldn't have the technology and finances to build speakers as good as those by Paradigm and B&W, just to name a couple of the popular ones on here. My parents have the Infinity Kappa 200 bookshelves with their center and I think that's a fantastic speaker. I am just wondering if I am missing something by not listening to the others. I have a set of Ohm Walsh 5's that my father gave me which I love but I need a smaller bookshelf setup for a NYC apt and was thinking of auditioning the Paradigm Studio 20's and mating that to their center and using an Infinity Intermezzo sub for an HT/Music system. Can anyone share their thoughts on this? Thanks

larrye
01-05-2004, 07:08 PM
I dunno. GM, Ford, and Chrysler have all the assets to be able to make cars like Mercedes and BMW, yet they don't. Zenith and RCA have the resources to be able to make TVs like Philips, Mitsubishi, Panasonic, SONY, Sharp ... and they don't.

There's nothing wrong with Infinity or JBL. But they are just not as good as the others you mention.

Woochifer
01-05-2004, 07:15 PM
First off, the Infinity Kappa, Intermezzo, and Prelude MTS series are not sold through Circuit City or other mass merchants. Infinity has a separate specialized dealer network for those models.