Need some expert advice for novice [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Need some expert advice for novice

Roll Tide
08-04-2005, 07:40 AM
I'm new to the Home Theater experience and need some expert opinions. I'm trying to decide if i need to get rid of the equipment i've had for a few years and get some more modern pieces. I've got a Pioneer DST receiver (65w) i have DCM Timeframe speakers up front that i've had for 13 years, Polk center channel, Yamaha subwoofer (only 100W) and am needing rear speakers.

My wife wants my back speakers to be very small and hardly noticeable. The room this will be in is about 10x15 and is an open great room that's got a 20-foot ceiling.

I've read a number of people say don't waste my money on surround speaker systems from Best Buy or Circuit City. In reading various pages, i've found a few systems that fit my budget, around $500-700, and are reputable. I'm not an enthusiast so i have no idea which system would be better and i'm not sure if anyone my city carries these brands.

Here are a few systems i thought about
Definitive Technology Procinema 60
Jamo A310 PDD
Wharfdale surround
Orb audio (look pretty neat)

Any other ideas? i know everyone has their own opinion, but I'd just like to hear from you experts what you think would be a smart decision.

Thanks!

swgiust
08-04-2005, 01:37 PM
How do you like how your current system sounds? If you like it, then keep it.

#1: Your reciever must be able to decode Dolby Digital, if it doesn't, replace it.

#2: I would spend what your talking about on a good subwoofer. You would be amazed
at what it would add. You have a very large room with high ceilings. A good $500-$700
sub is not out of line.

#3: have fun!

Mr Peabody
08-04-2005, 05:56 PM