Live Performance - The Wailers... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Live Performance - The Wailers...

Worf101
01-05-2004, 07:43 AM
About 1980 or so, I had tickets to see Bob Marley and the Wailers at the Syracuse War Memorial. Unfortunately Mr. Marley fell ill and never performed again. I had the unenviable task to trying to decide whether to keep the tickets for posterity or getting my money back. Being a poor broke student, I got my money back. Now some 20 years later I finally get to see The Wailers live. As you might expect it was both sad and spooky going to see a band without any of it's original vacalists, particularly Marley. I was worried that at best it would be a tribute show and at worst a caraciture (sp) of a tribute show. I was pleasently surprised when it turned out to be neither.

Audience - Primarily young 20 somethings with a smattering of "Woodstock Rasta's" (the show was in Clifton Park a suburb of Albany/Saratoga NY), very few afro-carribeans in the audience. Due to a recent ban on indoor smoking, not a lot of gange in the air... sigh... Lot's of lost young, Dead and Phish heads looking for another vibe.

Performance - Punctual (gotta give em major points for that) anyones who's ever been to any reggae show's or festivals knows that sometimes a Rasta na care bout dema Babylon time. 10 piece ensemble. 1 guitar, 2 keys, bass, drums, 3 singers and two horns. 4 original members of the Wailers on bass, guitar, drums and keys and some other old school rastas scattered throughout the band. The band played some instrumentals that immediately showed me that they were tight and in the pocket. Sound system was able to handle "Familyman's" penchant for rumbling bass (he was running at least 2 18-inch mains on his rig).