Speaker impedance switch...........what's the point? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Speaker impedance switch...........what's the point?

caniac
07-23-2005, 05:03 PM
Just got a new receiver, a Pioneer VSX-D814. The manual says that for speakers under 8 ohms (mine are 6 ohms), you need to switch the impedance.

I'm just wondering, what is the point of doing this? I've been running these speakers for probably 10 years on several different receivers and I've never had even a hint of any problems.

PAT.P
07-23-2005, 06:33 PM
Maybe thats because most receiver rated 8 ohm impedance could also play 6 ohm with no problem .If they were 4 ohm you would need more power. My towers are 8ohm but the nominal is 6ohm.I had only a Sony .Now i have a Yamaha and but switch at 4 ohm and its like day and night .The receiver as the power and Im running two towers .My sony would go on protect all the time.Pat.P

kexodusc
07-24-2005, 03:00 AM
. My towers are 8ohm but the nominal is 6ohm.I had only a Sony

Hi Pat.P,

I'm not sure I follow this statement...if your speakers are 6 ohms "nominal", they're said to be a 6 ohm speaker, that is, they behave similarly to a 6 ohm resistor. You shouldn't have a 6 ohm nominal speaker referred to as an 8 ohm speaker (but I've seen stranger things) They undoubtedly have peaks well above 12 ohms and probably below 6 ohms as well. The low number is usually the one you worry about (high impedance should be dealt with by the crossover, or we can assume it's insignificant).

The switches on receivers often only adjust the internal protection devices, so your receiver doesn't go into protection mode to early, or worse, too late. Many amps/receivers don't even bother with them.

PAT.P
07-24-2005, 05:51 AM
Kexodusc I was told they would have no problem playing them on a 8 ohm receiver like the Sony I was using.Still not benefiting at this time all potential of these speaker (bi-wire and by-amp).Pat.P

kexodusc
07-24-2005, 06:03 AM