Next Logical Upgrade ??? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Next Logical Upgrade ???

sldg
01-03-2004, 02:27 PM
Being a NEWBIE here goes

Using my profile as a guide to what I currently own, what piece of equipment is a practical upgrade?

Profile: amp phase linear 400
preamp sae mark IX
marantz cc65se
magnaplanar 1.5qr
rel storm III subwoofer
monster interconnects

Note current amp is about 30 years old which I purchased in 1973.
I really enjoy the Magnaplanars with the Rell subwoofer. I would like to possibly upgrade to 3.6r Magnaplanars but the age of the amp has me worried that if I commit that kind of $$$ to speaker upgrades and the amp fails I'm out of luck listening to anything.

Impact wise I think the speaker upgrade will give me the most bang for the buck or am I kidding myself? Anyone have any opinion on what kind of impact the amplifier change would have and if so, what amp in the $2500 range would you suggest?

jbangelfish
01-03-2004, 03:13 PM
Keep it, it still works and even if it quits, you could probably have it repaired for alot less than a new amp. I'd say go for the speakers that you want. I don't guess anybody knows how long these old amps will last as many still use them. If I liked it, I'd have no problem using it til it quit. My son uses my old Crown DC300A which is two years newer than yours, I bought it new in 1975 and it's been repaired once at a cost of $125. It still sounds as good as the day I bought it and my son hopes it will last forever. Unlikely but who knows how long?
Bill

spacedeckman
01-03-2004, 08:06 PM