I'm starting a new job soon... same goal. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : I'm starting a new job soon... same goal.

karl k
06-26-2005, 09:34 AM
After 17yrs at my future "former"employer, I finally decided to take the leap and try someone new. It was the hardest decision I've had to make but I still feel it was necissary. I started that job with the goal of learning new stuff about manufacturing in an effort to go somewhere else to make the "megabucks" but the pay got better and advancement potential was looking good so I decided to stay for awhile and try to make the place and the product better. I am an analyst by nature and am always looking for ways to increase efficiency of both the product and manufacturing process. I just can't stand to set back and watch someone kill themselves when there is an easier way. At the same time, I think it's wrong to build "planned obsolesence" or an inferior product. Unfortunately, some don't agree that change is a good thing or that change can/should come from the bottom of the ladder and there was my dilemma. Even when someone wants change, without formal certification or college background, it seems you aren't taken seriously when making suggestions. You would think that 17yrs would be enough to convince others that you know a little something about what you speak... I guess not. Engineers have this thing about having to know it all, owners have too many headaches already, and plant managers and foremans want nothing more than a worker(not a thinker)... as if your not suppose to have good ideas. Everybody, everywhere is protecting their own turf! I've been told SOOOO many times "you're not an engineer" or "you can't do it all"... AAARRRRRGGGGGHHHH!!!