how to setup a sub for flatline response I have no experience [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : how to setup a sub for flatline response I have no experience

Mark_IDT
06-22-2005, 07:44 AM
Ok I'm sure you all still remember the franken sub I'm thinking of creating. Though I've never had a real sub period let alone one with all the tweaker knobs adire has on there plate amps. I'm totally in the dark as to how I would properly setup it up in any given room. I've heard of using test tone cds and an spl (which I recently got) which I would feel would be best for me to learn to how to do seing as I've never really heard a stereo running at a good flat response. So it's not like I would be able to detect room gain peaks or loss by just my ear and I'm also under the impression it takes more than a good ear to do that anyway then again I could be wrong. I'm thinking I need to learn all this before I buy a sub so I may learn something that could affect my decesion once again EX: you guys said large subs are more difficult to setup esp in a small room. I've never seen one of these test cds for sale nor do I know what frequency range they cover as in do they also help dial in highs? I require a lesson and ya thanks for all the help you all have been given me I've learned alot here. -Mark

kexodusc
06-22-2005, 07:58 AM
Hi Mark.

I see you liked my "Franken-sub" moniker...I think that's the right name for the beast you are planning to make :D

A test CD is pretty cheap and easy to solve...here's a great link to some test tones:
http://www.snapbug.ws/sinewaves/

these are in MP3 format, you may wish to use Nero or some software to convert them to standard cd files( WAV or whatever). Burn them onto a CD with titles if you can, and make a directory on paper for quick reference.

You don't need all of the tones.

A good link to read about improving bass response would be the following:
http://www.snapbug.ws/bfd.htm