What's with the Watts [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : What's with the Watts

canuck1995
06-14-2005, 07:34 PM
I'm pretty new with home theater and I need some expert opinions. I bought a Yamaha HTR-5760 which has 95W per channel. My speaker specs are as follows:

Front speakers - Pioneer S-H453F (3-Way) Maximum Input is 160W
Presence Speakers - RCA 50W
Center Channel - Quest Q (2-Way Dual 5.25") - 100W
Subwoofer - JBL PB8 - 100W
Surround - JBL E20 - 120W
Rear Back Surround - Sony 100W

I've been reading a lot and I'm confused some would say that underpowering your speakers is good but some would say otherwise. I'm not that much worried about the 100W speakers as there is not much difference with the receiver. But I'm concerned about the 120W Surround, 160W Front and the 50W presence. Can anyone enlighten me on the consequence of this setup? Thanks.

RGA
06-14-2005, 09:43 PM
Well watts are indicators of almost nothing by themselves. the speaker ratings are the supposed maximum number of watts the speaker can handle.

Most people probably don;t get their systems past 15 watts anyway even at pretty loud levels.

I run a 10 watt amp - it is more then enough to get complaints from neighbors. Volume is more about speaker sensitivity - the higher the sensitivity the louder you can play with less watts.

So if a speaker is 93db sensitive 1 watt/1 meter it means it will be 93decibals at a distance of 1 meter with just 1 watt of power. A 90db sensitive speaker well yuo can see witll be 90 decibals at 1 meter with 1 watt.

So what's the big deal -- well the 90 db speaker to play as loud as the first one needs DOUBLE the amplifier power -- so 2 watts. to get to 93db.

Now say you play really loud what the above leads to is that if I own a 93db sensitive speaker and a 50 watt amp I will get the same volume level you get with 90db sensitive speakers but you need DOUBLE the power so a 100 watt amp.