help needed - floorstanding speaker setup with notebook [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : help needed - floorstanding speaker setup with notebook

sam2005_1980
06-06-2005, 01:43 PM
Hi,

I just made a custom notebook for myself and want to use it as a stereo sound system for quiet listening and parties as well.

I haven't installed a good sound card yet, there is one built-in, i am planning to buy a good sound card like creative nx2 usb, is it really needed, or adding a good amp would be enough?

Basically i want a stereo sound setup
with 2 floorstanding speakers
with a fast sub (if its needed)
and amp(i think its needed but am not sure)
and a good sound card (if needed, i have a pcmcia slot but its already used, so usb is only option)

I am not exactly an audiophile but i can recognize what speakers are good, or bad..

I am a student with a budget of 500-600$, in jersey city.

Room size is approx 20 X 30 ft, probably a bit bigger

Any help would be appreciated.

Sam

Geoffcin
06-06-2005, 02:07 PM
Hi,

I just made a custom notebook for myself and want to use it as a stereo sound system for quiet listening and parties as well.

I haven't installed a good sound card yet, there is one built-in, i am planning to buy a good sound card like creative nx2 usb, is it really needed, or adding a good amp would be enough?

Basically i want a stereo sound setup
with 2 floorstanding speakers
with a fast sub (if its needed)
and amp(i think its needed but am not sure)
and a good sound card (if needed, i have a pcmcia slot but its already used, so usb is only option)

I am not exactly an audiophile but i can recognize what speakers are good, or bad..

I am a student with a budget of 500-600$, in jersey city.

Room size is approx 20 X 30 ft, probably a bit bigger

Any help would be appreciated.

Sam