Dreaming of a Sub [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Dreaming of a Sub

noddin0ff
06-06-2005, 01:12 PM
It's been a few weeks since I've seen someone ask for subwoofer recommendations. I'm dreaming of getting one again. Maybe it’s time to start researching for real.

My priority is musicality, not volume. And to be honest, I doubt I need (or can afford) real low extension. I’m dreaming of something to pair with Studio 20’s for music. Primarily for Jazz and Classical. I’m much less critical for listening in other genres, and I really don’t care if I ‘feel’ the base hit my chest during movies. I want to be able to hear the string bass, not the cannons. But, I want the string base to sound like a string base.

So, a 10” sealed sub, target price $400-500? I’d consider used but it would have to be in good shape. I’d consider a kit if it were easy. What should I investigate? I have little listening experience with subs. Is there significant musicality to be gained by saving up more $$ first (with the Studio’s as a reference point)?

The others : Studio 20’s, Studio CC-470, Titans (rear).

jasmit
06-06-2005, 03:38 PM
I'm similarly situated (have Studio 20's, CC-470 & SA-10R's and am looking for a musical sub in that price range). The following are on my short list: Onix Rocket ULW-10 - new $499; Onix Rocket UFW-10 B-stock - ~$399 and Dayton 10" Titanic MKIII - new $500 assembled / $350 kit. Another which has captured my interest is Martin Logan's relatively new Dynamo; it's a little more money though at $599. All are sealed and are reputed to be "musical." The ULW-10 has the inside track, so far.

kexodusc
06-06-2005, 04:12 PM
Here ya go: happy bidding...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=3275&item=5779127794
If you could get this for $500 you'd be stealing it. I have not heard a better sub that didn't need building from the ground up for only $500.
There's a 15" Titanic as well.