bsr2005
06-02-2005, 07:49 PM
I am planning to setup HT. Thinking of

Yamaha RX-V2500 receiver
Energy C-5, C-C3, C-R3 speakers

Looking for suggestions.
-----------------------------------

Is it a good combination?
Are there any good speakers available which works well with Yamaha.

I don't want to spend much at this time on speakers. ;)

Florian
06-03-2005, 01:41 AM
Welcome to Audioreview !

You will find many helpfull opinions and suggestions on this site. Please also post a picture of your setup in the gallery, if you have a camera.

Well the Receiver by itself. I have no experience with the Energys but i heard the small miniature B&W's a while ago and found them to be pretty good sounding in respect to their size and price. Another one that comes to mind is the Paradigm speakers my friend own, he has the HT setup from them. I think they were Paradigm Atoms and then the matching inwall surrounds and sub. Check them out too, and if your interested check a different technology at magnepan.com

-Flo

GMichael
06-03-2005, 07:40 AM
Hi bsr2005,

I have the Yamaha and like it. But I don't know anything about the speakers. The receiver sounds very good mated with the Infinity Primus 360's. I know these aren't the best rated speakers but maybe I found that synergy thing that people talk about. Still, if I had it to do over I would have at least tried the Magnepans before I bought anything. I heard a pair for the first time last week. Very nice! Now they are just on my wish list.
Good luck sifting through all the options.

Mike

JSE
06-03-2005, 08:03 AM
The Energy C5's are very good speakers for their price. I listened to them a couple of years ago and was impressed. The bass is not the strongest but it is very good for the size of the speaker. I think you will find this to be the case with alot of speakers in this class. They generally get very good consumer reviews on the web.