Why 4 ohm or lower instead of 8? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Why 4 ohm or lower instead of 8?

GMichael
05-17-2005, 01:48 PM
I see a lot of very high end speakers that are 4 ohm. What is the advantage other than the extra volume? Doesn't the THD go up with these lower loads? And if 4 ohm is "better" then why do most (if not all) Sound Lab Products speakers still use 8 ohms? It's not like these are cheap either.

nightflier
05-17-2005, 02:05 PM
I see a lot of very high end speakers that are 4 ohm. What is the advantage other than the extra volume? Doesn't the THD go up with these lower loads? And if 4 ohm is "better" then why do most (if not all) Sound Lab Products speakers still use 8 ohms? It's not like these are cheap either.

I'm no expert, but it's my understanding that because of the potential for higher THD in these speakers, they are more expensive to design and manufacture. I don't think there is any other difference in performance or quality, but I'm no engineer. As far as what speakers are 4 or 8 ohm, it's been my experience that it's more an issue of geographic standards than anything else. In Europe, most speakers are 4 ohm, and it's been that way for a while. In the US, the 8 ohm variety is more prevalent. I imagine the far east is split between the former british colonies being force-fed 4 ohms and the rest pushing 8.

If you go back far enough, it probably goes back to that whole inches/centimeter debate (friggin' Frenchies, who has a 1 cm thumb, anyways?)
:D

JohnMichael
05-17-2005, 02:14 PM
I remember my first pair of speakers, the Smaller Advents, were designed to be 4 ohm because they were inefficient. They were designed to have the same bass as the Larger Advent in a smaller cabinet. Henry designed them to be 4 ohm to pull more watts out of the electronics of the day.

topspeed
05-17-2005, 02:21 PM