speaker system need for my av receiver! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : speaker system need for my av receiver!

akw
05-07-2005, 09:48 AM
Hi!

I have got a good second hand yamaha av receiver Rx-V440 (6.1 ch) from my uncle. But with no speakers. I would like to setup my home theater system with this receiver for my small room (20'x11 feet). But I am a student so I cannot afford to buy all 5.1 speaker system now.

So I would like to go first with the two speakers for music listening jazz,rocks etc. I saw a pair of athena speaker system in the audio shop and music listening is good with the marantz amplifier. But I have been told that some speakers are not match with some av receiver.
Can I use this athena speaker with my yamaha av receiver?
Please suggest me what speakers should I buy for my av receiver for music listening.

Thanks.
akw

PAT.P
05-07-2005, 04:36 PM
Hi!

I have got a good second hand yamaha av receiver Rx-V440 (6.1 ch) from my uncle. But with no speakers. I would like to setup my home theater system with this receiver for my small room (20'x11 feet). But I am a student so I cannot afford to buy all 5.1 speaker system now.

So I would like to go first with the two speakers for music listening jazz,rocks etc. I saw a pair of athena speaker system in the audio shop and music listening is good with the marantz amplifier. But I have been told that some speakers are not match with some av receiver.
Can I use this athena speaker with my yamaha av receiver?
Please suggest me what speakers should I buy for my av receiver for music listening.

Thanks.
akw
You would have no problem with the Athena on this Yamaha receiver ,it has enought power to handle these speaker and more.Yamaha is the next receiver I'm saving for ,my sony cant handle my speakers at high volume.Pat.P :(

akw
05-07-2005, 08:54 PM