Another "choosing a sub" question..... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Another "choosing a sub" question.....

AVJunior
04-24-2005, 08:12 PM
I'm just a beginner, now looking at the PSB Subsonic 5i, JBL E250 and the Velodyne DLS-3750R/ CHT-10R.

PSB is deep, flat response, but not loud enough.

JBL is very loud, but not deep enough.

Have not heard the Velodyne. Do you think the Velodyne is a clear winner?

FYI, 60% movie.

Thanks.

N. Abstentia
04-24-2005, 08:22 PM
In that price range, I wouldn't buy anything before trying SVS or HSU.

3db
04-25-2005, 04:26 AM
I'm just a beginner, now looking at the PSB Subsonic 5i, JBL E250 and the Velodyne DLS-3750R/ CHT-10R.

FYI, 60% movie.

Thanks.

How big is your room that you are using it in?. If its not a big room, than the PSB is what I recommend over the JBL anyway. I've not heard the Velodyne so I cannot comment. You mentioned that PSB had the two most important attributes, deep and flat response. That makes it a much easier task integrating into your room and into your existing HT set-up. Imagine trying to integrate something peaky like the JBL. Lots of boom in certain frequencies, and then quiet in others. Makes for a terrible sounding set-up.

I have the older Subsonic5 and I'm very pleased with it. I use it mainly fot HT but I do use it when listening to some classical music when pipe organs are being used. Good luck

Worf101
04-25-2005, 05:54 AM
In that price range, I wouldn't buy anything before trying SVS or HSU.

Listen to him man, he speaketh the troof!

Da Worfster :cool:

IRG
04-25-2005, 06:35 AM

FYI, 60% movie.

Thanks.