Help..our plasma has crack on the inside! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Help..our plasma has crack on the inside!

tv head
04-05-2005, 03:24 AM
Hi everyone, Im a newbie here & this is my first post. We have a 50 inch plasma...only 3 months old & we have just noticed a huge crack that starts from the bottom of the screen & comes up in a `V` shape.(double crack actually)! Well, the weird thing is that the glass is not brocken on the outside, and when you touch the screen it feels smooth. The glass is slightly raised where the crack runs but like I said, it seems to be on the inside.

Can anyone help us by explaining how this is possible. Could it have broken from on outside force eg the kids throwing something at it? Have any of you heard of glass cracking froim the inside?

Thanks in advance, very depressed tv head!

jeskibuff
04-05-2005, 03:40 AM
Sounds like a defect in the glass, perhaps induced by stress either in the mounting or some flex during shipment. Good for you that it's only 3 months into your ownership and you should get it replaced under warranty (hopefully, depending on where you purchased it). What brand of plasma was it? Did you mount it on the wall or does it sit in a stand? If on the wall, what kind of mount did you use? The only possibility that I see that you wouldn't be covered under warranty is if you mishandled the unit while mounting it or placing it, but that would be next to impossible to prove unless there's some scars on the back of the unit. Also, my unit (a Panasonic) has express warnings to only ship it in an upright position. Was yours ever transported in any other position?

tv head
04-05-2005, 04:17 AM
Thanks jeskibuff for your advice. Our plasma is wall mounted. It is an NEC 50 inch. As far as shipping goes, how can you tell what was done? The crack starts from the very bottom about a third in from the side & seems to be inside (as previously described).