help - need some advice to get started [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : help - need some advice to get started

dafugginman
03-15-2005, 09:36 AM
looking to build a system on a $5,000-$6000 or so budget, to be used almost exclusively for movies. aesthetics are pretty important and would like some pretty big floor standers as part of the system as i have a 63" projection with two 19" lcd tvs on top, so anything small would look a little silly. i'm new to this, so please bear with me. my head is spinning with all of the reading, varying reviews, and wide variety of choices.

should i go separates or a good receiver, such as a dennon 3805 or 5805, high end yamaha, onyko, or separates like rotella or parasound? lexicon and bryston are a little too much. any others? really not looking to go too far over 3000 here. i know THX and THX2 certification is a bit of a gimic, but it is something i would prefer to have given this is for a home theater.

for the rest of the system, i'm trying to narrow it down, but the list keeps expanding. what about a paradigm studio v.3 100 system, axiom, klipsch, or celestions A3s, which should give you an idea of price range and design i'm looking for - dark wood or black. they all seem to get just fair reviews on others sites, and given axiom's heavy level of advertising on here, i'm a liittle leary of the feedback here. really just looking for the best bang for the buck and these seem to be a better value for the performance vs the polks and infinitis.

also, are there any good sites to buy online? i'm really really having a tough time finding online dealers that sell higher end equipment below MSRP. the audio stores around me all charge MSRP.

would appreciate any feedback on some or all of the above.

topspeed
03-15-2005, 09:51 AM