Doing the Impossible - Complete Madness [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Doing the Impossible - Complete Madness

integrale
03-13-2005, 07:25 PM
I need some serious guidance from you gurus.

I'm a college student with a limited budget, and I want some great speakers for my dorm room. I can spend $500-$750 all-in (speakers, amp, wires, soundcard, etc.) My room is 12'x12' with a 9' ceiling, and I'll be hooking this system up to my computer. I listen to classical and rock, and I watch DVDs and TV on my computer. I have an integrated soundcard (not as bad as it sounds) as well as a Creative Extigy USB card. Currently, I'm listening to Cambridge Soundworks 215d's, and I'm sick to death of them. Thumping bass, weak mids, hiss (even with the digial input) and I have to crank up the volume to get any kind of clarity. So, it's time to move on to bigger and better.

I don't have the space for floor standing speakers, and I'll spend myself to the poorhouse before I get another cubed sub/sat system. So, basically, I'm looking for a bookshelf speaker, one that can sit on my desk and fill my little room with sound. I've looked at (in no particular order) Klipsch, B&W, Infinity, Polk, Aperion, Axiom, Epos, Tannoy, NHT, RBH, Cambridge Soundworks, Bose, JBL, and some I can't even remember. There are some good options, but I'd like an expert opinion. The entry level market is so crowded that I'm sure I'm missing something stellar, and I don't want to be kicking myself after this purchase.

Here's the part that I think is really impossible: I want transparent speakers. I want clear, neutral sound. I listen to music at low and moderate volumes; I rarely rock out at full blast. Accuracy is my biggest concern. I'd prefer a speaker that doesn't necessarily need a sub. It'd be nice if it looks good too. And - oh, what the hell - let's give it a good warranty too.