Newbie speaker choices [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie speaker choices

wrxplode
03-11-2005, 10:07 AM
Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the a/v world, but been wanting to start building up a home theatre system. I was planning to start out buying a pair of bookshelf speakers and placing them in the rear when I move later this summer and getting better speakers for the front. I was hoping to stay under $500 for the pair. Any suggestions? I was looking at some Polk speakers- LSi7-sounds like I can get under $500 online or one of those in the RTi line? Any suggestions would be helpful since I'm not familiar with most of the brands. By the way, I would like to eventually set up a surround sound system, but would also use to listen to music-mostly jazz,blues,hip-hop. thanks in advance.

topspeed
03-11-2005, 10:39 AM
Speakers are the most subjective part of the entire audio chain. My advice is to grab some of your favorite well recorded cd's and visit as many dealers as you can. Real audio stores are far better than B&M stores like Circuit City, Best Buy, Tweeter, et.al., and manytimes will let you borrow the speakers to hear them in your home with your equipment. This is key because your room will have a dramatic effect on how good a speaker sounds. Also, space limitations could rule out some very good bi-bolar speaker that simply require space to operate correctly. Buy what sounds best to you and don't worry about other people's opinions. It's your money.

Brands that I'd consider in your price range would be Paradigm, B&W, Epos, Polk, Wharfedale, Magnepan, Focal, Definitive Technology, Energy, and Monitor Audio. There are others of course, so audition as much as you can until one pushes the right buttons. You'll know it when you hear it so take your time and enjoy the journey.

Hope this helps.

chimera128
03-12-2005, 06:01 AM