New to the game, in need of guidance [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : New to the game, in need of guidance

Adamshar15
03-04-2005, 05:30 PM
I’m an audio student and recently have decided to make my home stereo the best I can, with the money I make. As of now I have a Scott 299 amplifier and a pair of Magnepanlanar SMGa. What I want to know is what you all think I can do/buy to make my system sound better. Specifically if I should buy a sub woofer, a surge suppressor, better cables...If I should buy these things what is a good brand/model. I realize that this is a very broad topic but please help me.

topspeed
03-05-2005, 04:19 PM
What don't you like about your current rig? What is it lacking? How much do you want to spend?

Adamshar15
03-06-2005, 11:13 AM
It's not that i don't like anything or that it's lacking asnything specific. I really like my SMGa's and I like my scott amp, but I don't know if they're a good combo, seeing as the amp is 25 watts per channel. What I'm interested in knowing is what is in the overall sound quality, what should I spend money on. A new amp? A Sub? A pre-amp? I hope that makes it a little more clear.

JoeE SP9
03-19-2005, 04:08 PM
Having owned Maggies in the past I know how they respond to power. If you wish to upgrade more power would be first on my list.

Geoffcin
03-19-2005, 10:10 PM
I’m an audio student and recently have decided to make my home stereo the best I can, with the money I make. As of now I have a Scott 299 amplifier and a pair of Magnepanlanar SMGa. What I want to know is what you all think I can do/buy to make my system sound better. Specifically if I should buy a sub woofer, a surge suppressor, better cables...If I should buy these things what is a good brand/model. I realize that this is a very broad topic but please help me.

There's plenty of ways to get better sound from your current rig. If you can give a budget you have in mind for this project then I could give you some suggestions.