Best Over the Ear Headphones for Portable Listening? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Best Over the Ear Headphones for Portable Listening?

rockphantom
03-03-2005, 10:47 AM
Howdy,

I am looking to pick up some new over the ear headphones for my portable music needs. I have been using a pair of Sony MDR-CD380s for the last 4 years, and would like to get some new phones to go along with my new portable.
Not big on buds or in ear pieces.

My budget allows me to spend $60 for new headphones. What do you recommend for someone who listens to music on portable devices for 3-4 hours a day, and sometimes in sweltering heat? Must have great sound, be both comfortable & rugged as I spend much time outdoors.

Any information would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Milan

dean_martin
03-03-2005, 03:25 PM
Howdy,

I am looking to pick up some new over the ear headphones for my portable music needs. I have been using a pair of Sony MDR-CD380s for the last 4 years, and would like to get some new phones to go along with my new portable.
Not big on buds or in ear pieces.

My budget allows me to spend $60 for new headphones. What do you recommend for someone who listens to music on portable devices for 3-4 hours a day, and sometimes in sweltering heat? Must have great sound, be both comfortable & rugged as I spend much time outdoors.

Any information would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Milan

Here's a link to the Sennheiser PX100. I gave my teenage son a pair for Christmas '03. He's taken them on bus trips for band and basketball. He's taken them to Japan. And, last summer he took them to Austin, TX. He lost an ear pad on the Texas trip (church youth group on a van) and found a perfect replacement at a Radio Shack in one of your malls for $2 or 3. I've tried them and was impressed with their sound. I prefer the sound of my Grados slightly better, but the PX100's win hands down on comfort and portability.