Classical Music Actually Moved Me... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Classical Music Actually Moved Me...

Shwamdoo
03-02-2005, 03:01 PM
My girlfriend plays in the Greater Dallas Youth Orchestra and a few nights ago I watched their performance. It was really one of the first times that I had ever sat down and listened deeply to classical music. I was supprised to find that I could actually enjoy classical music. Besides, I am only 17 years old and I mainly listen to rock, blues, and jazz. Anyways, I found the music to be very moving and even exciting. At points I even found myself on the edge of my chair. For me classical music was more like watching a play. All in all, I must say that it is a musical experience entirly of its own.

Anyways, since I am new to the classical music world, any recomendations as to great composers and recordings would be appreciated. I'm open to anything. Thanks.

dean_martin
03-02-2005, 04:11 PM
My girlfriend plays in the Greater Dallas Youth Orchestra and a few nights ago I watched their performance. It was really one of the first times that I had ever sat down and listened deeply to classical music. I was supprised to find that I could actually enjoy classical music. Besides, I am only 17 years old and I mainly listen to rock, blues, and jazz. Anyways, I found the music to be very moving and even exciting. At points I even found myself on the edge of my chair. For me classical music was more like watching a play. All in all, I must say that it is a musical experience entirly of its own.

Anyways, since I am new to the classical music world, any recomendations as to great composers and recordings would be appreciated. I'm open to anything. Thanks.

My wife and I went to Couples Night at the Symphony for Valentine's Day last year. The selections were incredible. My favorites were:

Samson et Dalila: Bacchanale by Saint-Saens
Selections from Romeo And Juliet by Prokofiev