Question Any knowledge of this PS Audio unit?

Can anyone tell me anything about this phono preamp? I'm new to this idea of a separate phono stage. I've been using the ones built-in on my preamps or my old Marantz receiver. I'm in a change mood, so stuff is going up on eBay and other stuff is coming in. I'm not thrilled with the phono stage on my Adcom, which surprised the heck out of me. I might be going too thrifty considering units like this, but I'm thinking maybe my first step into the world of the phono stage could be somewhat disposable...something I could put on eBay and get my money back. But then again....If I get comfortable with what to look for and maybe get a chance to audition one of these things, I'll probably look around in +/- $300 range...like I was discussing in my thread on the hissing Adcom GFP-565.

PS2

PS

Last edited by 02audionoob; 08-24-2008 at 09:15 PM.

Super Moderator Site Moderator JohnMichael's Avatar
    Run, run away fast. I have no knowledge of that phono pre-amp nor would I want any. There is a company called PS Audio that makes excellent products. That product pictured has no relation to the legit company.

http://www.audioadvisor.com/products.asp?dept=74

This link will take you to a number of phono pre-amps that would be worth owning. The least expensive ones are for moving magnet cartridges only. Others will allow you to use moving coil cartridges. The Cambridge Audio 640P is a quiet smooth sounding phono pre-amp that I am currently using. My only complaint is a change is sound quality using the subsonic filter. As you look at the phono pre-amps you will see one actually made by PS Audio. It is an excellent $1,000 product.

Good luck.
    Last edited by JohnMichael; 08-25-2008 at 02:32 PM.
    JohnMichael