Sophisticated Red Neck manlystanley's Avatar

How much does an amp circuity design affect sound?

I wanted to start a thread as to why I decided to go with the Aikido preamp design, instead of one of the Chinese designs of famous amps.

1.) The amp designs that were copied by the Chinese were quite old. They were optimum for their time. However, the state of design has improved. For instance, older amps used negative feedback, newer amps do not.
    **Note: I am a Computer Scientist and Math major and know limited about electronic design. I'm just re-stated what I've read. So don't expect me to defend this.

2.) If you look under the hood of modern preamps that do not have added features such as: remote control, bass/treble control, etc. it looks very simple. Were talking: a Transformer, power supply, and audio board (with four tubes, handful of resisters and capacitors). And that's basically it. Then why do the high end preamps cost: $2000+. The reason is: high quality tubes and audio capacitors are expensive. Further, getting thousands of tubes that sound the same is a challenge.

-- So, a major cost of the preamp is higher grade components; **AND** getting these components (particularly tubes) that sound the same.

-- Secondly, with the Chinese preamps I have no idea of what quality of parts they have. Just a couple of $40 output capacitors can drastically change the sound of an amp. If the Chinese finished product costs $250, what type of components are they putting into it?

3.) A companies need for profit is very large. When I was working technological start-ups I was to, a new product must cost the consumer:

-- 10 times the price company of the raw parts.
    -- or 2.5 time the price of the finished saleable product.

-- Why is this? Well, anything less is a indicative of a company gradually going out business. A company needs profit for: employees salary, benefits; rent, advertising, user support, capital to research new products, etc, etc.