Forum Regular

yet another amp recomendation thread

Hi again,

So I've recently been thinking about buying a power amp to run a pair of Klipsch RB-15's (93db, 8ohms nominal impedance) rather than upgrading my reciever. Currently I have a Harman Kardon HK3300 thats providing 25 watts and now and then it sounds like its a little strained. I'm not so much looking for a big volume increase as I am more usable range. Plus I would think that if it is being pushed there's probably potential to be damaging the speakers.

So, my thoughts (with some guidance from this forum) were that if I use the pre out for a power amp I can keep the reciever I have and upgrade to probably a higher quality and slightly more powerfull amp than would be there now. My only unanswered question before doing this is would spliting the pre out signal to go to a sub (Klipsch RW-8) and an amp have a negative effects.

If this will work then basically, I was looking for amp suggestions as I'm new to the idea of separate amplifiers. I was hoping to look in the $500 price range, and was thinking that probably 50 watts is going to be about the smallest noticeable difference in volume and probably at least sufficient. I think that even the 25 watts through them is sufficient, but I'd rather that the amp had a little more headroom, so probably 50-100 watts is a good plan? I've noticed in reading here that the klipsch is described as being very bright and forward. I enjoy their sound, but I could see it being to harsh if paired with an amplifier that was similarly voiced so I tohught that a more "warm or laid back" amp would probably be a good plan.

Am I right in thinking that if a reciever with a pre, some features and 80 wpc can be found in this range, just a power amp around 50 wpc will be a higher quality in the same price range? The only other problem is I'm not in an area with a lot of new selection, and even less used so i may have some problems finding uncommon amps.