Forum Regular

What about Bob...Carver

I'm just getting into separates,bought a carver tfm22 2 channel amp,pretty pleased so far...but I really know nothing about carver,I mean I know the name I hear or read the newer stuff isnt as good as older models,I guess Bob Carver is no longer with the company?Can anybody give me info on what were their better models,in the way of amps/preamps,Im going to buy another soon,thinking about M1.5t,they seem to sell the fastes on ebay,if anybody has any input,I would appretiate it.

RGA
    Forum Regular
    You want to post this on http://www.audioasylum.com/forums/amp/bbs.html and maybe the tube forum as I believe - not 100% that his best amps were of the tube variety - but i always mix him up with Conrad Johnson.

Audio Addicted

Lightbulb

Bob Carver's equipment is very stable and should offer you years of listening bliss. I started with a TFM-35 amp linked to a set of Kef 103 speakers and sound was great no matter what material I played. Over the years I have stayed with him and now use his Sunfire series equipment. It's in this series that tubes are used (preamp only). For more information you can visit sunfire.com for all the details and download a pdf booklet on the entire line. As for the TFM series equipment, you can visit just about any online store and find info or links to them.

Oh, by the way, welcome to audiophile land
    Michael
    2-Channel Traditionalist Audiophile
    Maggie Fan, Bob Carver Sunfire groupie

Bob Carver sold the company a while ago. He went on to start up Sunfire, which still makes receivers, subwoofers, and amps with his design. Carver's always taken an different approach to audio, which really polarizes people's opinions of him. On the one hand, he's regarded as an innovator who's not afraid to think outside the box, while his detractors view him as quack who sells half-baked ideas as cutting edge innovations.