AR Newbie Registered Member

Need advice on getting the most out of my speakers

This is my first time here...so howdy!

To the point...I need some guidance on what a/v receiver or pre/pro I should look into in order to get the most out of my speakers. I currently have:

Def Tech:

Fronts: 2x Mythos ST's
    Center: CLR3000
    Surr: 2x BPVX/P
    Sub: Supercube 1

Room: 16'x14' (speakers facing the 14' side)

I am a bestbuy employee, so I have access to Denon a/v receivers with a great discount. The main receiver I am interested in now is the Denon AVR-5308CI. but this is not set in stone...hence why I am here asking your advice

$5000 is my ceiling...with $3000 being preferable. Pre/pro or a/v receiver, whichever sounds best. I like the bells and whistles of the 5308CI...but ultimately I want the best sound I can pull from these speakers in both HT setup and stereo.

Thanks for your help.

-James

Suspended
    I've got my eye on this preamp; http://www.widescreenreview.com/news...l.php?id=15112

When did BB pick up Denon or is it just in Magnolia? Would you use all the features on the 5308?

For your budget there are some good options. It really depends on what your main listening habit is, HT or music. And, what are your "must have" features.

Smile

Well....mostly I want my theater sound to be as pristine as possible....but I am quickly learning that I love just sitting and listening to music while I work. These speakers, even on my old yamaha (htr-5560), have brought out the music lover in me with their nice sound The Best Buy's with Magnolia departments carry the full Denon lineup (minus the 5308 & AVP-A1HD, I am getting the 5308 through manufacture accomidations)

so...features I will use on the 5308:

-6in/2out HDMI connectivity (big screen and monitor for computer..I like the ability to use my LCD as my comp monitor or directv...and vice versa)

-Video scaler. My tv's scaler absolutely blows (it's only a pixel doubler to upscale to 1080p)