Suspended

Do tube amps generally lack bass slam vs solid state?

I have been using an Odyssey Stratos amp for several years mostly with Dynaudio 82s. The low end is incredible as well as everything else. I also have been swapping a pair of Continental Clearfields (early Von Schwiekert) in and out of the mix. The CFs lack low end bass with the Stratos but clearly play every note.

I just had a Counterpoint NPS-400 brought back to life by RHB Sound Dezign and swapped out the Stratos. I had the CFs in play at the time. Sound was noticeably different but still no real bass slam. I wheeled the Danes back into the mix yesterday for the first time with the Counterpoint and found that there is absolutely no slam at all where there should be. Several of my bass test tracks normally would rumble my listening room like a sub but now, no rumble.

I added my sub into the mix and found that not only do I get the beautiful sound that the Counterpoint is known for (except for the midrange glare the Stratos does not have) as well as the expected slam and low end frequencies.

I'm just wondering, is what I just experienced the norm with Tube Amps vs Solid State? Or, is the Stratos really just the Giant Killer it is advertised and reviewed to be?

Related gear is VAC CLA-1 MKII pre-amp, Rotel CDP, all Synergistic Research cables.

My Audio Research CA50 produces pretty good bass, as does their current-model integrated...but not pounding like a 200-watt solid state amp.

RGA
    Forum Regular
    Some points:

I don't find the Statos to be a giant killer.

Not all tube amps are designed the same way

Some tube amps have terrific bass abilities some SS amps don't and vice versa - famous names or not.